Republican candidates for the Senate and 3rd Congressional District led in Amite County, with 21 out of 21 precincts reporting.

Republican incumbent Sen. Roger Wicker led with 3,225 votes (61 percent) to Democratic state Rep. David Baria’s 1,932 votes (36 percent). Libertarian Party candidate Danny Bedwell got 123 votes, while Reform Party candidate Shawn O’Hara received 27 votes, not including absentee and affidavit ballots.

Incumbent Republican Sen. Cindy-Hyde Smith won the county with 2,084 votes (40 percent) for the U.S. Senate special election to replace Thad Cochran. Democratic candidate Mike Espy followed with 1,841 votes (35 percent), while Republican candidate Chris McDaniel received 1,193 votes and Democratic candidate Tobey Bartee got 112 votes.

Hyde-Smith and Espy will compete in a second election on Nov. 27.

In the 3rd Congressional District, Republican Michael Guest defeated Democrat Michael Ted Evans with 3,299 votes (62 percent) to Evans’ 1,967 votes (37 percent). Reform Party candidate Matthew Holland received 57 votes.

David Ishee ran unopposed for the Southern District Supreme Court judge, garnering 4,138 votes (99.5 percent).

David McCarty carried Amite County in the Mississippi Court of Appeals District 4 seat with 2,518 votes (54 percent). Jeff Weill Sr. received 1,328 (30 percent) and Byron Carter received 737 votes.

Debbra Halford and Wayne Smith ran uncontested in the 4th District Chancery Court race. Halford received 4,425 votes (99.6 percent) and Smith had 4,738 votes (99.6 percent).

Lillie Blackmon Sanders was unchallenged in the 6th Circuit Court race and got 1,248 votes (98.5 percent). In the same district, vying for Place 2, Debra Blackwell won 3,075 votes (89 percent) to Holmes Sturgeon’s 384 votes (11 percent). Sturgeon died unexpectedly last month, after ballots had been printed.  

Bettye ‘Cissy’ Foster Fenn won 508 votes (52 percent) to Tyrone Green’s 474 votes (48 percent) in the School Board District 3 race to replace albert White Sr. In the School Board District 4 race, Cindy Wilson Newman defeated Ben Thompson with 774 votes (69 percent) to Thompson’s 348 votes (31 percent). She’ll replace the departing Jimmy Burns.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.